The earliest photograph of Bakersville that shows the property on which the Barber Shop building sits today was taken after the 1901 May Flood. It’s shown here beside the first Post Office and the J W Bailey Store which was sold in 1912 to George Young. At this time, the barber shop building was most likely the law office of S J (Samuel Julian) Black, conveniently located near the courthouse.
George Young acquired the building from Mr. Black in 1912 and sold it to the barber, Walter Lindley Stewart, who in 1925 added a façade to the building. Stewart sold the building back to Young in 1930, yet it continued to serve the town as the Barber Shop.
Shown is an unknown person in the foreground and Walter Stewart, owner, in back. (Photo by Jim Jones)
In the early 1940’s both the Barber Shop and old Post Office Building, which had become a café and then a soda shop, were torn down and replaced with a two-section brick building adjoining the brick Post Office that had been built around 1927.
In the late 1940’s and 50’s, one of the most well-known barbers was Townzle Greene, the father of the highly respected teacher, coach, principal, and superintendent, Douglas Greene, who also served as a barber on weekends while he was in school. During the “Town” Greene era, young girls had their hair trimmed there. Vern McKinney and Jimmy Grindstaff cut hair, as did Dean Smith (no—not that one). Dawn Blevins was the last owner and barber in the building.
With the fresh ideas and boundless enthusiasm of its new owner, Harley Miller, the historical property and building will keep the iconic red, white, and blue barber pole; however, it will be a place for food, fun, and community. The previous owners would be proud to see this space continue to be economically and socially important to Bakersville and Mitchell County.